East Tennessee Historical Society's Publications ; no. 30, 1958.
A paper presented at the monthly meeting of the East Tennessee Historical Society in Knoxville on November 2, 1956.

Monograph series (Society for the Scientific Study of Religion); no. 5

Echoes from the Hilltop is the story of Margaret Eliza Henry, the first scholarship secretary at Maryville College in Tennessee. For thirteen years, she traveled throughout the Northeast raising money for scholarships for children from the Southern Appalachians. Her audiences included Daughters of the American Revolution chapters; various men's, women's, and children's organizations; churches; schools; and individuals. Margaret wrote letters of thanks to these donors and told them about the students receiving the benefit of their gifts. She stayed in touch with the administration, faculty, and students of the college when she was "on the wing" for months at a time.In addition, letters of introduction were mailed in the spring as she planned an itinerary for the next year. All these letters tell a story of love for the mountains and the people who lived there, devotion to Maryville College and its students, and a woman traveling alone during the early twentieth century.

Reprinted from the Journal of the American Society of Chartered Life Underwriters, Summer and Fall, 1962 issues.

Long regarded as one the leading texts in museology, Introduction to Museum Work in now thoroughly revised and updated. While citing recent changes in the museum world, the third edition of Burcaw's classic work retains its useful philosophical orientation and convenient summary format. All the basics of museology are here--the central issues are discussed and definitions are given for all the terms museum workers need to know. Every chapter includes practical exercises making Burcaw's book ideal for the classroom or for novice museum workers. Accepted by the Documentation Center of the International Conference of Museums as exemplary of museum training, Introduction to Museum Work is used as a basic text in museum studies all over the world.

"The earliest reference to a permanent location in Blount County is the gathering of troops at Houston's Station in 1786.... In July 1795, the General Assembly of the Territory South of the Ohio River erected a new county from Knox to be called Blount in honor of Governor William Blount." In this detailed narrative history, the author has reached back into "the misty shadows of history to show why events developed as they did." This well-researched and well-written work covers a wide range of topics: the pre-settlement period; the settlement period; the county government; the county's role in the wars; early inns and watering places; the churches of Blount County; education; medical men and institutions; courts, public offices and men of law; industries and occupations; and communities. The data-rich appendix includes a list of Blount County Revolutionary War soldiers; a list of persons who were issued permits to enter Cherokee lands in 1798; North Carolina land grants which were registered in Blount County; militia captains who served in Blount County; a list of taxable property and tax for Blount County (1801); a Blount County tax list (1800); lists of those who served during the War of 1812 for numerous companies; Cherokee removal; Captain Julius Caesar Fagg's company (Mexican War); delegates to the Union convention; 1862 and 1863 accounts of salt sold in the 7th District for Blount County; muster roll of the home guard (1861-65); Sultana survivors from Blount Count still living in 1892; school directors (1869); lists of those who served during the Spanish American War; post offices; Company "B" 117th Infantry, 30th Division (1919); families about whom data may be found in the Parham Papers; cemeteries; and Blount County officeholders. Several illustrations and an index to full-names, places and subjects add to the value of this work.

4th ed. Commonly referred to as the "Bushing Manual."

An historical address delivered in the classroom on the occasion of the unveiling of the photograph of Dr. John Lansing Cameron on Sunday, December 4, 1983, at 7:30 P.M. (with later revisions)

An address (with revisions) delivered to the James Johnston Pettigrew Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy at State Headquarters at noon on March 19, 1980, on Blount Street in Raleigh, North Carolina.

The Appendix section consists of some sixty-two selections, several on members of the Tucker family, with most of the remainder of them on local history by the present writer;..."--Preface.

A combination of the author's "Religious trends in a century of hymns", published in 1937, and its supplement "Our changing hymnology", published in 1938. Also published in 1939 under title: Changing conceptions of religion.

"Jefferson's catalogue of 1783; transcription of the music section": p. [97]-104. -- "Collections of Jefferson family music": p. [105]-128. -- Bibliography: p. [135]-152.

Available online at https://archive.org/details/in.gov.ignca.16038/mode/2up

"This is an excellent book on the still sensational Dead Sea Scrolls and on the elucidation and partial solution of many of the intricate problems involved.... Especially enlightening is the definite conclusion on the part of the author that the five years' excavations of the ruins at Khirbet Qumran connect `the people of the scrolls with the Essenes.'... Highly recommended for libraries with readers deeply interested in the Dead Sea Scrolls."-- Library Journal

Abbreviations The Religion of Canaan and the God of Israel The God of the Fathers 'El and the God of the Fathers    'El in the Ugaritic Pantheon    The Epithets of 'El    'El in the Canaanite Myth    'El and Ba'l Hamon    The Abode of 'El    'El the Divine Patriarch Yahweh and 'El    'El in the Bible    'El Epithets in Patriarchal Narratives    The Name Yahweh The Cultus of the Israelite League Prolegomena    The Myth and Ritual School    The History-of- Redemption School The Divine Warrior    Psalm 24 and the Warrior-King    The "Ritual Conquest"    Transformations of the "Ritual Conquest" The Song of the Sea and Canaanite Myth    The Mythic Cycle of Ba'l and 'Anat    The Song of the Sea League and Kingdom Yahweh and Ba'I    The Theophany of Ba'l    The Storm Theophany in the Bible    The Revelation at Sinai    History of the Tradition of the Storm Theophany    'El's Modes of Revelation    Yahweh and the Council of the Gods    Ba'l versus Yahweh The Priestly Houses of Early Israel    The Classical View of Israel's Early Priesthood    The Function of the Stories of Conflict    The Priestly Genealogies    The Priests of David's National Shrine Kings and Prophets The Ideologies of Kingship in the Era of the Empire: Conditional Covenant and Eternal Decree    The Limited Monarchy of Saul and Monarchy in the Northern Kingdom    Davidic Kingship    The Imperial Rule of Solomon    The Judaean Royal Theology    The Typology of the Royal Ideology    A Brief Excursus on berit, "Covenant" The Themes of the Book of Kings and the Structure of the Deuteronomistic History    The Contemporary Discussion of the Structure of the Deuteronornistic History    The Two Themes of the First Edition of the Deuteronomistic History (Dtr 1 )    The Theme of the Exilic Edition of the History (Dtr 2 )    The Two Editions of the Deuteronomistic History Exile and Apocalyptic The Priestly Work    The So-Called P-Source of the Pentateuch    The P System of Covenants    Is P a Narrative Source?    Documents Used by P    Archaizing Language in P    The Date of P    The Composition of the Priestly Work The Early History of the Apocalyptic Community at Qumran    The Archaeological Context of the Qumran    Qumran and the Essenes &

"This is a textbook for the course in developmental psychology, or human growth and development, whether taught in the department of psychology, in the department or school of education, or in home economics. It presents the essential concepts, research findings, and interpretations upon which an objectively derived developmental psychology must be based. Using a broad, eclectic approach, this volume emphasizes personal and social adjustments of the individual at increasingly higher levels of development. It reviews recent findings and interpretations of physical, intellectual, emotional, moral, and social growth, with special attention to environmental influences of the home, school, and community. Stress is placed on the developing individual's interests, attitudes, and social activities. Selected quantitative materials and theoretical concepts dealing with such topics as emotion, intelligence, mental health, dynamic needs, personality, and the like, are included to provide breadth and comprehensiveness"--Preface. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2014 APA, all rights reserved).

Maryville, Tenn., Pub. by the class of 1871 of Maryville College, 1921.

List of Tables and Figures Preface Acknowledgments PART I. THE ANATOMY OF AN ADMINISTRATIVE PRESIDENCY 1. A Passion to Prevail 2. Prometheus Unbound or Sisyphus Redux 3. Public Lands, the BLM, and the Reagan Revolution PART II. A VIEW FROM THE GRASSROOTS 4. Politics, Position, and Power Production 5. Backdoor Privatization, "Cold Welfare," and the BLM 6. Toward Becoming a "Good Urban Neighbor"? Or, "You're Not a Man Till You Do a Land Exchange" 7. Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Water 8. Wilderness, King Coal, and the San Juan Basin PART III. BEYOND FEAR OR FAVOR: LESSONS FOR THEORY AND PRACTICE 9. Missing Links, Links Gone Missing, and Natural Resource Management 10. "Fire Alarms," "Garbage Cans," and the Administrative Presidency Notes References Index About the Author

This survey of current issues and controversies in environmental policy and management is unique in its thematic mix, broad coverage of key debates and approaches, and in-depth analysis of concepts treated less thoroughly in other texts. The contributing authors, all distinguished scholars or practitioners, offer a comprehensive examination of key topics in environmental governance today, including perspectives from environmental economics, democratic theory, public policy, law, political science, and public administration. Environmental Governance Reconsidered is the first book to integrate these wide-ranging topics and perspectives thematically in one volume.Many are calling for a change in the bureaucratic, adversarial, technology-based regulatory approach that is the basis for much environmental policy--a move from "rule-based" to "results-based" regulation. Each of the thirteen chapters in Environmental Governance Reconsidered critically examines one aspect of this "second generation" of environmental reform, assesses its promise-versus-performance to date, and points out future challenges and opportunities. The first section of the book, "Reconceptualizing Purpose," discusses the concepts of sustainability, global interdependence, the precautionary principle, and common pool resource theory. The second section, "Reconnecting with Stakeholders," examines deliberative democracy, civic environmentalism, environmental justice, property rights and regulatory takings, and environmental conflict resolution. The final section, "Redefining Administrative Rationality," analyzes devolution, regulatory flexibility, pollution prevention, and third-party environmental management systems auditing. This book will benefit students, scholars, managers, natural resource specialists, policymakers, and reformers and is ideal for class adoption.

J.H. Fisher

THE COMPLETE POETRY AND PROSE OF GEOFFREY CHAUCER is intended to make Chaucer's texts accessible with a minimum of scholary interference. The critical, biographical, and linguistic essays are grouped at the end so as not to impede the approach to the text. By doing so, the student is able to enjoy the richness and humor of The Canterbury Tales as well as the beauty of Troylus and Criseyde. This collection will create a deeper appreciation for Chaucer and his genius.

Posthumously published. -- An unfinished novel done as a project for the Independent Study program of Maryville College. -- Editorial foreword by Edwin R. Hunter.

On spine and cover: History of the Bank of Maryville. -- Includes bibliographical references

This first volume of a two-volume definitive survey of aquatic and wetland plants of the southeastern United States focuses on native and naturalized monocotyledons in the following physiographic provinces: Atlantic and Gulf coastal plains; southern Appalachian highlands, flanked on the east by the Piedmont plateau and on the west by the Appalachian plateau; the interior lowlands; and the interior highlands. Robert K. Godfrey and Jean W. Wooten provide well-written, concise descriptions and keys for the identification of seven hundred species. The text for each species includes both a statement indicating the habitats in which the plant is usually found and information about its geographical distribution. Approximately four hundred drawings supplement the text and provide additional information for proper identification. The authors use nontechnical language whenever possible and include a glossary of technical terms. The first comprehensive survey of the aquatic and wetland monocotyledons of the Southeast, this book will prove invaluable for ecologists, botanists, and nonspecialists interested in the plant life and ecology of the region.

This is the long-awaited second volume of Godfrey and Wooten's definitive survey of aquatic and wetland plants of the southeastern United States. It focuses on native and naturalized dicotyledons of the region and provides well-written, concise descriptions and keys for the identification of 1,084 species. A glossary of terms, list of references, separate indexes of common and scientific names, and nearly 400 well-executed drawings complete the volume. The first comprehensive survey of the aquatic and wetland plants of the Southeast, the Godfrey and Wooten volumes will prove invaluable to botanists, ecologists, college students, government agencies involved in land-use management, and nonspecialists interested in the plant life and ecology of the region.

Account of the author's experiences with the 101st Infantry of the 26th Division in World War Two.

Albert Schweitzer, by H. A. Rodgers.--Walter Rauschenbusch, by R. T. Handy.--Sören Kierkegaard, by F. J. Denbeaux.--Karl Barth, by T. F. Torrance.--Reinhold Niebuhr, by C. Welch.--Paul Tillich, by R. C. Johnson.--Rudolph Bultmann, by C. Michalson.--Martin Buber, by W. E. Wiest.--Dietrich Bonhoeffer, by T. A. Gill.--Martin Heidegger, by J. Macquarrie.--Jürgen Moltmann, by D. L. Migliore.--Alfred North Whitehead, by J. B. Cobb, Jr.

Thesis--University of Chicago. -- Bibliography: leaves 451-461.

Type-written (carbon copy) -- Thesis (M.A.)--University of Chicago

1. Chaucer's idea of his heroine.--2. The other-world ending.--3. Notes.

Reprinted from The Shakespeare Association Bulletin, vol. xii, no. 4 - Oct., 1937, pages 217-235.

Mimeographed. Text [by] Dr. E.R. Hunter; pageant outline and direction [by] Ruth Proffitt [and] Lois Brown.

Anthology of reports from surviving veterans who were at Pearl Harbor during the attack on December 7, 1941.

Series: The Young Historian Books

Translation of: L'arte del Giappone. -- Includes index. -- Bibliography: p.315.

Series: Ancient peoples and places; v. 78

Series: Ancient peoples and places; v. 10
Books that matter

Translation of: Nihon no chōkoku (romanized form) -- Bibliography: p. 310-314. Photographed by Yasukichi Irie [and others] Introd., text and commentaries by J. Edward Kidder, Jr.

Earning graduate school time : US Army service : 1943-1946 -- New York and Paris : 1946-1950 -- State Department vs. US military : Japan in the summer of 1950 -- Washington University and the Fulbright in Kyoto : 1950-1956 -- From the Nakajima Aircraft Factory to the ICU campus -- The formative years of ICU : 1952-1960 -- Early archaeology -- from rags to riches : 1957-1975 -- The lost decade, the Funsō : 1960-1970 -- The road to the Nogawa Palaeolithic -- ICUARC and excavations in neighboring areas : 1970-1985 -- Excavations in Tokyo wards : 1988-1993 -- The wider web -- In codex : Kokubun-ji, jingū-ji, Asuka, Hōryū-ji, Yamatai; Tramping at home and abroad -- The entrenched deception : the lower palaeolithic hoax -- Mostly extracurricular and altogether unforgettable -- Retrospect.

This book presents the results and con­clusions of the longest continuous study ever undertaken for a local North Ameri­can game bird population.   Since 1950 abundance has been deter­mined seasonally by direct count, nesting ecology by field searches and observation, and hunting pressure and harvest by field interviews. Land use and weather condi­tions also have been recorded. The period of the study saw considerable change in regional land use and included several of the most severe winters in recorded weather history.   Continuing harvest of the study popu­lation did not have a progressively de­pressing effect on standing densities; rather it held breeding stock somewhat below K at a more productive point on the growth curve. Roseberry and Klimstra report that there was clear evidence of an 8 to 10-year cycle within the study population. They found after examining a number of cycle theories that a close temporal relationship existed between their bobwhite data and the nodal lunar cycle described by Archibald (1977).   Sound field techniques, long-term data acquisition, and appropriate mathe­matical and statistical treatment of the data combine to provide a significant contribution to what is known of not only bobwhite but basic population ecology.

This broad survey introduces readers to the major themes, figures,traditions and theories in Western historical thought, tracing itsevolution from biblical times to the present. Surveys the evolution of historical thought in the WesternWorld from biblical times to the present day. Provides students with the background to contemporaryhistorical debates and approaches. Serves as a useful reference for researchers andteachers. Includes chapters by 24 leading historians.

Lloyd Kramer offers a new interpretation of the cultural and political significance of the career of the Marquis de Lafayette, which spanned the American Revolution, the French Revolutions of 1789 and 1830, and the Polish Uprising of 1830-31. Moving beyond traditional biography, Kramer traces the wide-ranging influence of Lafayette's public and personal life, including his contributions to the emergence of nationalist ideologies in Europe and America, his extensive connections with liberal political theorists, and his close friendships with prominent writers, many of them women. Kramer places Lafayette on the cusp of the two worlds of America and France, politics and literature, the Enlightenment and the Romantic movement, public affairs and private life, revolution and nationalism, and men and women. He argues that Lafayette's experiences reveal how public figures can symbolize the aspirations of a society as a whole, and he stresses Lafayette's important role in a cultural network of contemporaries that included Germaine de Stael, Benjamin Constant, Frances Wright, James Fenimore Cooper, and Alexis de Tocqueville. History/Biography

Examining the history of nationalism's pervasive influence on modern politics and cultural identities, Lloyd Kramer discusses how nationalist ideas gained emotional and cultural power after the revolutionary upheavals in the late eighteenth-century Atlantic world. Nationalism in Europe and America analyzes the multiple historical contexts and intellectual themes that have shaped modern nationalist cultures, including the political claims for national sovereignty, the emergence of nationalist narratives in historical writing and literature, the fusion of nationalism and religion, and the overlapping conceptions of gender, families, race, and national identities. Kramer emphasizes the similarities in American and European nationalist thought, showing how European ideas about land, history, and national destiny flourished in the United States while American ideas about national independence and political rights reappeared among European nationalists and also influenced the rise of anticolonial nationalisms in twentieth-century Asia and Africa. By placing nationalist ideas and conflicts within the specific, cross-cultural framework of Atlantic history and extending his analysis to the twentieth-century world wars, Kramer offers readers a thoughtful perspective on nationalism's enduring political and cultural importance throughout the modern world.

Drawing from numerous historical sources, the editor summarizes the views of Paine and Jefferson on liberty in America, and on the contrasting political realities in Europe as well.

Revision of thesis--Cornell University. -- Includes index. -- Bibliography: p. 280-289.

Includes index. -- Genealogical tables on lining pages.

Stories of the author's family, reprinted from the Cleveland plain dealer.

Series: S. S. Huebner Foundation for Insurance Education

Thesis--Univ. of Pennsylvania. -- Bibliography: p. 227-280.

The Pension Research Council monograph series

3rd. edition. Several editions available in MC Library collection.

Series: Irwin Series in Insurance

Series: The Irwin Series in Insurance.
1966 edition available as well in MC Library Collection.

The S.S. Huebner Foundation for Insurance Education Lectures

From the Pension Research Council of the Wharton School

This volume is largely made up of papers presented at the 1982 symposium for institutional members of the Pension Research Council.

Ralph H. Blanchard memorial endowment series; v. 1

Conference Theme : "The Role of Private Enterprise in Insuring Life and Property Values".

Published for the Institute of Human Relations by Yale University Press

Here is a descriptive insight into an era not long forgotten but decidedly different. This is a collection of stories from the author who experienced them along with photos supporting the action. It's the same campus, or is it? Enjoy the humor as well as the drama of the early 1970's. Discover for yourself "the secret".

Often considered merely a repository of archaic or even Elizabethan English, the language of southern Appalachia represents a distinctive American dialect that is both conservative and innovative. This dictionary marks the first comprehensive, historical record of the traditional speech of this region. Focusing on the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee and western North Carolina, it features more than six thousand names, usages, meanings, and folk expressions that are found in the region, exemplified by more than fifteen thousand documented quotations.

This updated volume reflects the changes brought about by the computer revolution. It recognizes that how to study efficiently does not come naturally, and offers common sense advice that takes into account all the variables of student life.

This beautifully written & designed treasure trove of 400 recipes & short stories contains antique photographs of persons mentioned. Fran Fernandez, Life Times Editor of the Daily Times, Maryville, TN states, "Let's Cook, America is a warm blending of family memories & sumptuous dishes which will tempt the palate of the international gourmet & the traditional Southern cook." To order: Write Wolfe Mullins Publishers, Inc., Box 4515, Maryville, TN 37804. Trade Discounts Available.

A narrative of the proceedings of the Black people during the late awful calamity in Philadelphia (1794) / Absalom Jones and Richard Allen -- A charge (1797) / Prince Hall -- A dialogue between a Virginian and an African minister (1810) / Daniel Coker -- Series of letters by a man of colour (1813) / James Forten -- An oration on the abolition of the slave trade (1814) / Russell Parrott -- An address before the Pennsylvania Augustine Society (1818) / Prince Saunders -- Ethiopian manifesto (1829) / Robert Alexander Young -- Appeal to the colored citizens of the world (1829, 1830) / David Walker --Address to the National Convention of 1834 (1834) / William Hamilton -- Address delivered before the African Female Society of Troy (1834) / Elizabeth Wicks -- Productions (1835) / Maria W. Stewart -- Appeal of forty thousand citizens, threatened with disfranchisement, to the people of Pennsylvania (1837) / Robert Purvis -- New York Committee of Vigilance for the year 1837, together with important facts relative to their proceedings (1837) / David Ruggles -- Address to the slaves of the United States of America (1848) / Henry Highland Garnet -- Proceedings of the National Convention of Colored People (1847) -- Report of the proceedings of the Colored National Convention...held in California (1848) -- Essay on the character and condition of the African race (1852) / John W. Lewis -- A plea for emigration, or notes of Canada West (1852) / Mary Ann Shadd -- Address to the people of the United States (1853) / Frederick Douglass, et al. -- Political destiny of the colored race on the American continent (1854) / Martin Delany -- The history of the Haitian Revolution (1855) / William Wells Brown -- An appeal to the females of the African Methodist Episcopal Church (1857) / Mary Still -- A vindication of the capacity of the Negro for self-governement and civilized progress (1857) / J. Theodore Holly -- The English language in Liberia (1861) / Alexander Crummell -- Negro self-respect and pride of race (1862) / T. Morris Chester.

Loose-leaf. -- Bibliography at end of each chapter.

v. 1. The period of unification, 1815-1871 -- v. 2. The period of consolidation, 1871-1880 -- v. 3. The period of fortification, 1880-1898.

Reprint of the ed. published by the Dryden Press, Hinsdale, Ill. -- Bibliography: p. 120-122.

"Dr. Rosemary Lee Potter is one of the miracles God has allowed me to witness. Throughout my pastoral ministry, I've become convicted that the greatest miracle of life is not eyes seeing again, legs walking again, even marvels in medical science, glorious to behold. The greatest miracle is a changed mind and heart, the result of connecting with the presence, power, and person of God. Rosemary Potter has claimed this miracle! Reading The Stubborn Ear will tell how it happened and provide you the key that alone opens the channel and connects with God. This book is a must-read for both believers and those who do not!" Dr. Tom Farmer Jr., grateful former Pastor "Whereas our tongues lead us into trouble daily, our ears provide wisdom for a lifetime! Rosemary Potter's inspired work causes us to lean into the greatest of life's teachers: the voice of God. The Stubborn Ear is creative and witty, a simple work that will last a lifetime." The Reverend Bob Martin, Senior Pastor of St. Paul UMC, Largo, Florida "I've read most of the writings by my friend and colleague of thirty years, Dr. Rosemary Potter. The Stubborn Ear was a delightful surprise, her most spiritual and personal book! I'd witnessed many of the listening' events described. This uplifting little book recalls her learning to stop, Be still,' to listen, hearing God's voice leading her to help others. It is a must-read for anyone struggling to discover God's will and direction for their lives!" Carole Popaden, Retired Librarian

My vocation of medicine has offered me many opportunities to meet people and experience once-in-a-lifetime adventures. Many of these people have been outside my profession including scientists like Dr. Jonas Salk and famous athletes and coaches like Hank Aaron and the University of Tennessee women's basketball coach, Pat Summitt. My travels have taken me to places like South Korea, where I was a physician for the American Embassy, and to Nicaragua, where I monitored the National Presidential Election in which Violeta Chamorro upset Daniel Ortega. This book is filled with memories, both professional and personal, of my lifelong journey as a father, family physician, public servant, but, most of all, an eager student of all that experience can teach through a life well lived.

This study explores in literalism and inerrancy as the interpretive basis of some Jewish, Christian and Muslim justifications of acts of violence. In the end, an argument is made, on historical, scriptural, moral and theological grounds, rejecting Holy War as a perversion of God's creation.

This study explores Marcel's understanding of hope as it relates to many categories, including: activity-act-life, anxiety-strangeness, availability-unavailability, being-having, captivity-trials, charity, communion-intersubjectivity, concrete philosophy, creativity, death, desire, despair, faith, prayer, sacrifice-suicide, and many others. In addition the book offers a spiritual biography of Marcel based on his two essays in autobiography, a bibliography of secondary material, and appendices which index Marcel's major passages on the themes described above.

While the world's major religions differ in their beliefs, they share common spiritual values. Although Christians and Muslims disagree about the divinity of Jesus, the New Testament and the Qur'an affirm a common set of spiritual virtues that are also found in Hinduism and Buddhism. For Christians, the fundamental spiritual virtues are most memorably stated in the Beatitudes that begin the Sermon on the Mount. Strangers on the Shore explores the virtues in the Beatitudes as they are expressed in the New Testament, the Muslim Qur'an, the Hindu Bhagavad Gita, and the writings and traditions of Buddhism.

This study provides analyses into the concepts of war and peace as found in the Jewish, Christian and Muslim religions. It covers topics such as; the traditions of the Prophets; theologies of war; theologies of peace; and unholy war.

A practical field guide to a rich wildflower area, this book combines useful plant descriptions with truly spectacular photographs. All the wildflowers are found on Oregon's Iron Mountain in the Cascades, but the book is useful throughout the region.

Thesis (Ph. D.)--University of Tennessee, 1962. -- Bibliography: p. 159-165.

"Maryville College and Great Smoky Mountains National Park cooperative program for environmental education." -- Includes bibliographies.

Cites writings about women in American music, covering the period from 1776-1976. A total of 1,305 books and articles are included.

Series: The Chicago History of American Civilization

In this book Elbert B. Smith disagrees sharply with traditional interpretations of Taylor and Fillmore, the twelfth and thirteenth presidents (from 1848 to 1853). He argues persuasively that the slaveholding Taylor--and not John C. Calhoun--was the realistic defender of southern slaveholding interests, and that Taylor did nothing to impede the Compromise of 1850. While Taylor opposed the combination of the issues into a single compromise bill that could not be passed without amendments to suit the extremists, he would have approved the different parts of the Compromise that were ultimately passed as separate measures. Most historians have written that Taylor's death and Fillmore's accession led to an abrupt change in presidential policy, but Smith believes that continuity predominated. Taylor wanted the controversies debated and acted upon as separate bills. Fillmore helped to accomplish this. Taylor was ready to defend New Mexico against Texas. Fillmore ordered 750 additional troops to New Mexico and announced publicly that he would do the same. Taylor had wanted statehood for California and New Mexico with self-determination on slavery. As separate measures, the Congress admitted California and preserved a viable New Mexico as a territory authorized to make its own decision on slavery. With secessionists pitted against moderates in the southern elections of 1851, Fillmore had to choose between his constitutional oath and his personal antipathy to the new fugitive slave law. He supported the law and thereby helped keep southern moderates in power for a few more years. In fact, however, his efforts did not recapture a single slave. In Smith's view, Fillmore's most serious mistake was refusing in 1852 to get himself nominated for another term. Smith argues that Taylor and Fillmore have been seriously misrepresented and underrated. They faced a terrible national crisis and accepted every responsibility without flinching or directing blame toward anyone else.

This book offers conclusions that are very different from most of the traditional historical interpretations of the Buchanan presidency. Historians have either condemned Buchanan for weakness and vacillation or portrayed him as a president dedicated to peace who did everything constitutionally possible to avoid war. Under the scrutiny of Elbert B. Smith, Buchanan emerges as a strong figure who made vital contributions not to peace but to the accelerating animosities that produced the war. "Historians who have considered the Civil War a necessary and justifiable price for the destruction of slavery should feel a debt to James Buchanan," Smith writes. "Those who think the war could and should have been avoided owe him nothing." Most of the accounts of the era have concentrated on the Dred Scott Case, Bleeding Kansas and the Lecompton Constitution, the Lincoln-Douglas debates, John Brown, the rise of the Republicans and the disintegration of the Democrats, the election of 1860, and the bitter quarrels over slavery extension occasioned by these events. Buchanan has often appeared on a stage occupied by more important actors. Whether or not the war was already inevitable by March, 1857, cannot be proved. That a subsequent series of emotion-packed events filled both North and South with rage and fear, triggering secession and the war, is undebatable. It is Smith's theory that Buchanan, in leading the United States through these fateful years, added much to the war spirit that developed in both sections. Driven by affection and sympathy for the Southerners, he tried to satisfy their demands for slavery rights in the territories. This aroused bitter anti-South feelings throughout the North, which foiled his efforts and further convinced the Southerners that they could no longer have their way inside the Union. The one event that finally triggered the Southern secession was the election of a Republican president, and Buchanan's agreement with the Southern demands and his personal hatred for Stephen A. Douglas did much to accomplish this. Covering the most controversial period in American history, Smith presents important new evaluations for the consideration of students of both the Civil War and the presidency.

Zachary Taylor (November 24, 1784 - July 9, 1850) was an American military leader and the twelfth President of the United States. Taylor had a 40-year military career in the U.S. Army, serving in the War of 1812, Black Hawk War, and Second Seminole War before achieving fame while leading U.S. troops to victory at several critical battles of the Mexican-American War. Taylor's short Presidency was shadowed by the issue then dominating all aspects of American national affairs - that of slavery. However, the immediate issue was the admission of New Mexico and California as states. Taylor confounded his Southern supporters, who had assumed that since the President owned slaves, he would support the pro-slavery position and refuse entry into the union to two states settled by Northerners and likely to be anti-slavery. Taylor recommended that the two territories develop their own constitutions and then request admission based on those constitutions. When Southern states threatened secession he warned them that he would use all his resources as commander-in- chief to preserve the union. He stated that if they seceded he would track them down like he had the Mexicans, and handle them in the same manner that he had deserters. Taylor's brief term in the White House also featured the still on-going question of balancing power between the Congress and the presidency.

"Published under the auspices of the American Society of Chartered Life Underwriters." -- Bibliographical footnotes.

In the years after World War I, Southern farm women found their world changing. A postwar plunge in farm prices stretched into a twenty-year agricultural depression and New Deal programs eventually transformed the economy. Many families left their land to make way for larger commercial farms. New industries and the intervention of big government in once insular communities marked a turning point in the struggle of upcountry women--forcing new choices and the redefinition of traditional ways of life. Melissa Walker's All We Knew Was to Farm draws on interviews, archives, and family and government records to reconstruct the conflict between rural women and bewildering and unsettling change. Some women adapted by becoming partners in farm operations, adopting the roles of consumers and homemakers, taking off-farm jobs, or leaving the land. The material lives of rural upcountry women improved dramatically by midcentury--yet in becoming middle class, Walker concludes, the women found their experiences both broadened and circumscribed.

This volume tells the stories of women born between 1890 and 1940 in eastern Tennessee and western South Carolina, who grew up on farms, in labour camps and in remote towns during an era when the region's agricultural system changed dramatically.

Since the peak of the civil rights movement in the 1960s, African-American women have produced many significant novels that grapple with the struggle for social justice. In this book, Melissa Walker offers fresh readings of 18 of these novels examining how they relate to the movement and to its failure to achieve educational, economic and social equality.

In a house trimmed with holly, two sisters make preparations for their Christmas party. But sadly their assortment of cats cannot attend. So when the guests arrive, upstairs they must go! The banished cats squirm as they smell the aroma of baked treats and hear the crackle of fire, and they don't want to miss another minute of this festive fete. When the restless felines break loose and crash the party below, chaotic hilarity ensues.

Bk. 1. A century of Maryville College, 1819-1919 -- Bk. 2. Second century beginnings.

Summary: Study of the effect of their travels in Italy on thirteen American writers, among them, Irving, Hawthorne, and James.
Content Notes: The American literary discoverers of Italy -- The untrammelled life: Allston, Irving, Tuckerman, Fay, Willis, the Greenoughs, Stowe, Leland, Brewster -- The fruits of civilization: Cooper -- The language of art: Hawthorne -- The enigmatic past: Howells -- The moral field: James -- The young American in the Italian life school.

First American edition of The Marble Faun, with 52 illustrations of textual references to art works.

Series: Modern American Poets, v. 3
"250 copies have been printed ... This copy is number 66."

v. 1. 1803-1806 / edited by Nathalia Wright -- v. 2. 1807-1822 / edited by Walter A. Reichart and Lillian Schlissel -- v. 3. 1819-1827 / edited by Walter A. Reichart -- v. 4. 1826-1829 / edited by Wayne R. Kime and Andrew B. Myers -- v. 5. 1832-1859 / edited by Sue Fields Ross.

Series: Duke University Publications

A millionaire reveals his secrets to achieving long-term wealth, drawing on his 27 years as a professional money manager and investment counselor for one of the nation's leading banks. In How to Get Rich and Stay Rich, Fred J. Young presents the three sources of wealth--real estate, common stocks, and a personal business--with detailed explanations and a blueprint for success.