Skip to Main Content

Welcome to the Lamar Memorial Library!
NO FOOD ALLOWED - Drinks in covered containers are permitted.

Click Here for Information About Online Library Services and Resources, including Live Chat with a Librarian.

library homepage
Today's Hours:  

Maryville College Archives

IMPORTANT UPDATE

The Maryville College Archives has reopened for on-site research appointments!

Research assistance is also available via email, phone, and Zoom appointments.

For more information or to make an appointment, please contact the Archivist at amy.lundell@maryvillecollege.edu or 865-981-8352.

Digital Collections

All our Digital Collections are available at Maryville College Archives Digital Collections. Please note that the records available online are a very small representation of our physical collections. They make an excellent starting point for research but there is so much more to see in our complete physical collections.

For important information on how to search these collections, see the How-To Guides listed below.

How-To Guides

COMING SOON!

Looking for Specific Online Resources?

Looking for something specific in our online digital collections? Use the tabs and links below to navigate directly.

Important Information

Chilhoweans 2010-2013 are not digitized. The last published Chilhowean was in 2013. For more information, please contact the Archivist.
1906 (Vol. 1) 1907 (Vol. 2) 1908 (Vol. 3) 1909 (Vol. 4)
1910 (Vol. 5) 1911 (Vol. 6) 1912 (Vol. 7) 1913 (Vol. 8)
1914 (Vol. 9) 1915 (Vol. 10) 1916 (Vol. 11) Over the Top (1917)
1918 (Vol. 12) 1919 (Vol. 13) 1920 (Vol. 14) 1921 (Vol. 15)
1922 (Vol. 16) 1923 (Vol. 17) 1924 (Vol. 18) 1925 (Vol. 19)
1926 (Vol. 20) 1927 (Vol. 21) 1928 (Vol. 22) 1929 (Vol. 23)
1930 (Vol. 24) 1931 (Vol. 25) 1932 (Vol. 26) 1933 (Vol. 27)
1934 (Vol. 28) 1935 (Vol. 29) 1936 (Vol. 30) 1937 (Vol. 31)
1938 (Vol. 32) 1939 (Vol. 33) 1940 (Vol. 34) 1941 (Vol. 35)
1942 (Vol. 36) 1943 (Vol. 37) 1944 (Vol. 38) 1945 (Vol. 39)
1946 (Vol. 40) 1947 (Vol. 41) 1948 (Vol. 42) 1949 (Vol. 43)
1950 (Vol. 44) 1951 (Vol. 45) 1952 (Vol. 46) 1953 (Vol. 47)
1954 (Vol. 48) 1955 (Vol. 49) 1956 (Vol. 50) 1957 (Vol. 51)
1958 (Vol. 52) 1959 (Vol. 53) 1960 (Vol. 54) 1961 (Vol. 55)
1962 (Vol. 56) 1963 (Vol. 57) 1964 (Vol. 58) 1965 (Vol. 59)
1966 (Vol. 60) 1967 (Vol. 61) 1968 (Vol. 62) 1969 (Vol. 63)
1970 (Vol. 64) 1971 (Vol. 65) 1972 (Vol. 66) 1973 (Vol. 67)
1974 (Vol. 68) 1975 (Vol. 69) 1976 (Vol. 70) 1977 (Vol. 71)
1978 (Vol. 72) 1979 (Vol. 73) 1980 (Vol. 74) 1981 (Vol. 75)
1982 (Vol. 76) 1983 (Vol. 77) 1984 (Vol. 78) 1985 (Vol. 79)
1986 (Vol. 80) 1987 (Vol. 81) 1988 (Vol. 82) 1989 (Vol. 83)
1990 (Vol. 84) 1991 (Vol. 85) 1992 (Vol. 86) 1993 (Vol. 87)
1994 (Vol. 88) 1995 (Vol. 89) 1996 (Vol. 90) 1997 (Vol. 91)
1998 (Vol. 92) 1999 (Vol. 93) 2000 (Vol. 94) 2001 (Vol. 95)
2002 (Vol. 96) 2003 (Vol. 97) 2004 (Vol. 98) 2005 (Vol. 99)
2006 (Vol. 100) 2007 (Vol. 101) 2008 (Vol. 102) 2009 (Vol. 103)

Important Information

Only a selection of issues of have been digitized. For more information, please contact the Archivist.

Descriptions of Student Newspapers

Maryville Student: The Maryville Student is the first known student newspaper at Maryville College. Founded by future MC President Samuel Tyndale Wilson and John Silsby (Wilson's future brother-in-law), the newspaper ran for only one school year (1875-1876).
Highland Echo: Founded in 1915, the Highland Echo has been continuously published to the present. Only the issues through 1997 have been digitized. For more information, contact the Archivist.

Maryville Student

September 1875 October 1875 November 1875
December 1875 January 1876 March 1876
April 1876 May 1876

 

Highland Echo

1915-1925 1925-1936 1936-1949
1949-1964 1964-1976 1976-1987
1987-1997

 

Important Information

Our earliest catalogs are not digitized. Contact the Archivist for more information.
Student Directories: Student directories (registers) are included in each issue through the 1967-1968 catalog. Lists of graduates and statistical information about the student body are included in each issue through the 1976/1977 catalog.
Important note about catalog dates: Generally, up through the 1951-1952 catalog, the catalog dates refer to the school year just completed and contain the student directory (register) for that year and announcements for the upcoming school year. For example, 1930-1931 catalog contains the student directory for the 1930-1931 school year and the announcements for the 1931-1932 school year. Beginning with the 1953-1954 catalog, the catalog date pertains to the upcoming school year and contains the student directory (register) for the previous year.
1866-1867 1867-1868 1868-1869
1869-1870 1870-1871 1871-1872
1872-1873 1873-1874 1874-1875
1875-1876 1876-1877 1877-1878
1878-1879 1879-1880 1880-1881
1881-1882 1882-1883 1883-1884
1884-1885 1885-1886 1886-1887
1887-1888 1888-1889 1889-1890
1890-1891 1891-1892 1892-1893
1893-1894 1894-1895 1895-1896
1896-1897 1897-1898 1898-1899
1899-1900 1900-1901 1901-1902
1902-1903 1903-1904 1904-1905
1905-1906 1906-1907 1907-1908
1908-1909 1909-1910 1910-1911
1911-1912 1912-1913 1913-1914
1914-1915 1915-1916 1916-1917
1917-1918 1918-1919 1919-1920
1920-1921 1921-1922 1922-1923
1923-1924 1924-1925 1925-1926
1926-1927 1927-1928 1928-1929
1929-1930 1930-1931 1931-1932
1932-1933 1933-1934 1934-1935
1935-1936 1936-1937 1937-1938
1938-1939 1939-1940 1940-1941
1941-1942 1942-1943 1943-1944
1944-1945 1945-1946 1946-1947
1947-1948 1948-1949 1949-1950
1950-1951 1951-1952 1953-1954
1954-1955 1955-1956 1956-1957
1957-1958 1958-1959 1959-1960
1960-1961 1961-1962 1962-1963
1963-1964 1964-1965 1965-1966
1966-1967 1967-1968 1968-1969
1969-1970 1970-1971 1971-1972
1972-1973 1973-1974 1974-1976
1976-1977 1979-1981 1981-1982
1982-1984 1984-1986 1986-1988
1988-1990 1990-1992 1992-1994
1994-1996 1996-1998 1998-2000
2000-2002 2002-2004 2004-2006
2006-2008 2008-2010

Important Information

Only a small selection of issues of the Maryville College Bulletin have been digitized. For more information, please contact the Archivist.

Other Digitized Issues of the Maryville College Bulletin

Alumni Issues:Digitized alumni issues of the Maryville College Bulletin can be found under the "Alumni Publications" tab.
Catalog Issues:Digitized catalog issues of the Maryville College Bulletin can be found under the "Catalog" tab.
Maryville College Bulletin: Supplement (May, 1913) Maryville College Bulletin: Methods of Student-Help at Maryville (June, 1921) Maryville College Bulletin: Prospectus for the College Year (July, 1921) Maryville College Bulletin (July, 1923)
Maryville College Bulletin (August, 1925) Maryville College Bulletin (February, 1960) Maryville College Bulletin (April, 1965) Maryville College Bulletin (April, 1966)
Maryville College Bulletin (April, 1968) Maryville College Bulletin (November, 1968) Maryville College Bulletin (April, 1969)

Important Information

Only a selection of issues of have been digitized. All issues in a single school year have been digitized into a single file. For more informtaion, please contact the Archivist.
1898-1899 1899-1900 1900-1901
1901-1902 1902-1903

Important Information

Not all Student Handbooks ("M" Books) are digitized. For complete listing, contact the Archivist.

1909-1910 1913-1914 1921-1922 1922-1923
1923-1924 1924-1925 1925-1926 1929-1930
1930-1931 1931-1932 1932-1933 1933-1934
1934-1935 1935-1936 1936-1937 1937-1938
1938-1939 1939-1940 1940-1941 1941-1942
1943-1944 1945-1946 1946-1947 1948-1949
1949-1950 1950-1951 1951-1952 1952-1953
1954-1955 1955-1956 1956-1957 1957-1958
1958-1959 1959-1960 1960-1961 1961-1962

Important Information

Only a selection of issues of have been digitized. For more information, please contact the Archivist.

Descriptions of Alumni Publications

Maryville College Bulletin: During the first half of 20th century, Maryville College published a yearly "Alumni Issue" of the Maryville College Bulletin.
FOCUS: During the latter half of the 20th century through the present, Maryville College has published a standalone alumni magazine entitled FOCUS.
Alumni News and Notes: During the early 21st century, Maryville College briefly published a standalone alumni newsletter entitled Alumni News and Notes. It has since been superseded by a monthly email newsletter.

Maryville College Bulletin: Alumni Issues

October 1923 December 1925 April 1928
May 1930 September 1934 April 1940
April 1941 October 1941 April 1942
October 1942 April 1943 October 1943
April 1944 October 1944 April 1945
October 1945 April 1946 October 1946
April 1947 October 1947 April 1948
October 1948 April 1949 October 1949
April 1950 October 1950 April 1951
October 1951 April 1952 October 1952
April 1953 October 1953 April 1954
October 1954 April 1955 October 1955
April 1956 October 1956 April 1957
October 1957 April 1958 November 1958

FOCUS

Fall 1996 Fall 1997 Spring 1998
Fall 1998 Summer 1999 Autumn 1999
Spring 1999 Spring 2000 Winter 2000
Spring 2001 Fall 2001 Winter 2002
Summer 2002 Fall 2002 Spring 2003
Summer 2003 Spring 2004 Winter 2004
Spring 2005 Summer 2005 Winter 2006
Summer 2006 Summer 2007 Spring 2009
Spring 2010

Alumni News and Notes

Fall 2006 Fall 2007 Fall 2009

COLLEGE HISTORIES

Chronicles of Maryville College (Wilson, 2nd Ed., 1935)
Maryville College: A History of 150 Years (Lloyd, 1969)
By Faith Endowed (Blair/Walker, 1994)
A Century of February Meetings (Walker, 1976)

BIOGRAPHIES

Memoir of Rev. Isaac Anderson, D.D. (Robinson, 1860)
Isaac Anderson Memorial (Wilson, 1932)
Thomas Jefferson Lamar (Wilson, 1920)
In Memoriam: William Thaw (1891)

FACULTY/STAFF PUBLICATIONS

This Man's Art (Edwin R. Hunter, 1964)
That Man's Scope (Edwin R. Hunter, 1975)
The Southern Mountaineers (Samuel Tyndale Wilson, 1914)