Lamar Memorial Library: Education and Teacher Licensure Resources: Databases/Search Engines

Maryville College Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, critical reviews of research written by leading scientists in the disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the #1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Gale OneFile - Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete is a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education and every educational specialty, such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, and provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
ERIC (EDRS Service) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Gale OneFile - Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on a wide range of health and wellness topics. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of full-text articles and eBooks from scholarly publishers in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Music, Natural Sciences, and Mathematics.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Gale OneFile - Leadership and Management This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management - (Professional Development Resources for Educators) provides access to authoritative periodical content covering such topics as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional interested in career development.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection AND PsycInfo AND PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Search the Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection, PsycInfo, and PsycArticles databases at the same time!
Gale OneFile - Psychology This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more.

Tennessee Electronic Library - TEL

Tennessee Electronic Library (InfoTrac Web Database Collection) This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Web is a collection of databases covering a variety of topic areas including general news, social sciences and humanities, legal and medical information, and consumer information. InfoTrac Web provides both scholarly and popular journals with many in fulltext.

Scholarly Search Engines

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 1.4 billion records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more.

FDsys: Government Printing Office Federal Digital System
FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. FDsys has several options for searching through its vast collection of documents (keyword search, collection search, and browsing).
Google Scholar
http://scholar.google.com

Google Books

Browse books online
If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy. Learn more about the different views.

If you find a book that you need, check MC Quest to see if the Library has the book available. If not, you can request the book through interlibrary loan.

Welcome to the Lamar Memorial Library

(In the Scots Learning Commons)

Education and Teacher Licensure Resources

Maryville College Databases

Tennessee Electronic Library - TEL

Scholarly Search Engines

Google Books

Maryville College

Lamar Memorial Library

Welcome to the Lamar Memorial Library

(In the Scots Learning Commons)

Education and Teacher Licensure Resources

Maryville College Databases

Tennessee Electronic Library - TEL

Scholarly Search Engines

Google Books

Maryville College

Lamar Memorial Library

Check Out Our Instructional Videos!