Open Access Resources

Streaming documentary films about American Roots Cultures, with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. Includes transcripts, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and additional links to related sites.

Searchable site of Broadway productions.

Film resources, actors, directors, etc.

Online Broadway database from 1942-present

Links for theatre research sites from Classical to Contemporary.

Recordings, tools for teaching, biographies on Smithsonian Folkways artists, Folkways magazine, podcasts

Covers technical theater issues and includes a glossary of technical theater terms.

Research and performance information for mime.

Library of Congress featured digital collections, including: Leonard Bernstein Collection, Aaron Copland Collection, African-American Sheet Music, America Singing: Nineteenth-Century Song Sheets, Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music.

A partnership of major research institutions working to preserve cultural heritage. Contains many scanned original documents.

Short, animated history from the U.S. National Archives. Archival GIFs featuring historic events, newsreels, National Parks, and more.

Contains: quotation books, gazetteers, fact books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, style books, anthologies in the public domain

A free multi-track audio editor and recorder

Online resources on styles/genres, bibliographies and music lists, resources for teachers.

Classical music sources for basic repertoire and composers. The composers section includes a Master Composer list with biographies and recommended recordings.

The University of Washington Ethnomusicology Division houses more than 400 instruments. Browse the collection, sound files, or video files.

Streaming documentary films about American Roots Cultures, with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. Includes transcripts, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and additional links to related sites.

This site is a cultural heritage project documenting the relationships of jazz artists and their personal and professional lives. The network visualization tool demonstrates an artist's connections, with an audio sample and biographical information.

Search more than 26,000 composers and find geographical places connected to composers/classical music in the Music Atlas

Searches performances since August 2014, artists, companies. Includes statistics.

Information on copyright law and lists of public domain and royalty free music.

Free and legal contemporary compositions of recordings and score videos. These works have been composed within the last ten years. Projects are commissioned by ScoreFollower and submitted by the composer.

Recordings, tools for teaching, biographies on Smithsonian Folkways artists, Folkways magazine, podcasts

A music thesaurus for composers. Includes musical terms and general meanings.

Free ear training and music theory software

Virginia Commonwealth University's Music Theory Program website.

Lessons, exercises, and tools to practice music theory

Complete listing of ear training and music theory games.
First three levels of all games are free. Beyond those, a monthly or yearly subscription fee applies.

Public domain music scores by composer

The Library of Congress digital collection contains over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright from 1870-1855. Includes: popular songs, piano music, sacred/secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books, instructional materials, music for band and orchestra.

Sutton's Dance Writing. Notation of dance choreography

A growing collection of dance videos filmed from the 1930s to today at Jacob's Pillow in Becket, Massachusetts. Their festival is the oldest dance festival in the United States, held since 1933.

This site features the dance and festival of Jacob's Pillow.

Recordings, tools for teaching, biographies on Smithsonian Folkways artists, Folkways magazine, podcasts

Streaming documentary films about American Roots Cultures, with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. Includes transcripts, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and additional links to related sites.

Art History Resources on the web by Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe

A large database of art collections, searchable by artist. Includes biographies and detailed information about individual pieces of art.

Research libraries of The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and the Museum of Modern Art digital collections

Free and open online collection for online teaching and learning.

The Poetry Archive features poets reading their own work aloud. It also has a section that contains lesson plans and resources for teachers.

Open educational resources from leading universities and colleges