A teaching credential is the license conferred by a state to teachers who have completed certain state-mandated requirements for teaching certification such as education courses and passed state-mandated teaching examinations. Teachers may earn a credential that allows them to teach the early childhood grades (usually nursery school-grade 3), the elementary grades (grades 1-6 or 8), the middle grades (grades 5-8), a secondary education subject area (usually grades 7-12), or a special subject such as reading or music (usually grades kindergarten-12).
In the humanities, the following secondary licensure programs are available at Maryville College: Economics/History, English, History, History/Economics, History/Political Science, Political Science/History, and Spanish.
Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete is a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education and every educational specialty, such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, and provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on a wide range of health and wellness topics. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management provides access to authoritative periodical content covering such topics as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional interested in career development.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 200,000 articles from over 100 journals published by the APA.
This database provides coverage of more than 700 full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as 1840.
Fully updated to include the most recent research and theoretical developments in the field, the third edition of Identity in Adolescence examines the two way interaction of individual and social context in the process of identity formation.
In Adolescence in America, more than 100 leading experts from the fields of biology, medicine, behavioral and social science, law, education, and the humanities piece together the puzzle of adolescence.
Chinn argues that the concept of the "generation gap"—a stereotypical complaint against American teens—actually originated with the division between immigrant parents and their American-born or -raised children.
The field of education has experienced extraordinary technological, societal and institutional change in recent years, making it one of the most fascinating yet complex fields of study in social science.
In this new encyclopedia, the only book on educational technology designed for the nonexpert, scholars in the field describe, in jargon-free terms, how educational practices have shaped our uses of technology—and vice versa.
In the study of multicultural education, there are key names, places, concepts, and legal actions which provide a foundation for the field. This reference includes more than 400 entries from a broad range of topics related to multicultural education, which the authors define as education geared toward reducing bias, ensuring equity, and promoting understanding of the self and others.
During this period of dynamic technological change, teachers must be ready to meet the challenges of preparing students for a global society characterized by diversity and ever-increasing expectations.
The book highlights research-based instructional strategies that teachers can use and adapt to their particular needs, plus real examples in Language Arts, Social Studies, Mathematics, Science, Health Education, and Visual Arts.
National Educational Technology Standards for Teachers by International Society for Technology in Education
Call Number: 370.711 I616n 2008
Publication Date: 2008
First published in 2000, the National Educational Technology Standards for Teachers (NETS*T) introduced ISTE s technology standards for teachers and included profiles for each stage of teacher education from general preparation through first-year teaching.