The Spanish language is the most widely spoken Romance language, both in terms of number of speakers and the number of countries in which it is the dominant language. There are more than 400 million Spanish speakers worldwide.
The Spanish-speaking population is one of the fastest-growing segments in the world, especially in the United States. The Spanish-speaking segment constitutes a huge community that shares products, services, and culture, offering businesses and institutions a truly unique growth opportunity.
The largest minority group in the United States is Hispanics. U.S. Hispanics have become not only a powerful group in terms of buying power, but also represent a key demographic group for national, state, and local politics.
Career fields and options for Spanish majors include:
Government: Diplomat, translator, interpreter, linguist, Peace Corps volunteer, research specialist, Armed Forces, agricultural specialist, etc.
Social service: Law enforcement, welfare, health services, income tax consultant, missionary, minister, nursing, medical research writer, vocational counselor, case worker, etc.
Education: Teacher, translator, editor, textbook author, etc.
Library: Librarian, translator, classifier of foreign documents, etc.
Scientific fields: Technical writer, translator, researcher, technical liaison, archaeology, museum work, medicine, etc.
Travel and tourism: Travel agent, tour guide, hotel/restaurant employee, flight attendant, airport personnel, etc.
Business: International law, banking, patent attorney, advertising, sales, marketing, executive/manager, technical expert, personnel manager, public relations, secretary, import-export firms, brokerage firms, medical organizations, service/cultural organizations, etc.
Communications: Journalism, foreign correspondent, photographer, writer, editor, TV or radio writer, reporter, technician, executive, video crew, translator, advertiser, film, entertainment, interpreter, international telephone operator, etc.
Currently, Project MUSE offers quality journal titles from scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Why study Spanish?
A Spanish major provides students with a greatly enriched view of the world around them as well as Spanish language skills that will prove useful in many professional occupations. With its emphases on research, writing, and creative and analytical thought, the Spanish major prepares students for graduate studies in Spanish and most professional schools, including law, business, education, and medicine, and for work in professions such as law, teaching, business, management, and publishing.
Many Spanish majors combine their Spanish studies with other areas to prepare for career opportunities in international business, government, travel, or communications, where knowledge of a foreign language and of foreign cultures is essential.
This volume is packed with all the practical travel information you could ever need, from places to stay and eat, tourist information resources, destination-specific travel advice, emergency information, plus sections on the region's history and geography that provide readers with the background knowledge essential to a fantastic holiday.
This is an introduction to the Mayan civilization, including new interpretations and ongoing controversies.
The Gran Diccionario Oxford by Beatriz Galimberti Jarman; Roy Russell; Carol Styles Carvajal; Jane Horwood
Call Number: 463.2 O985 2003 (in Reference)
Publication Date: 2003
With over 300,000 words and phrases, and half a million translations, and packed full of grammatical and usage information for both languages, it is the most authoritative Spanish bilingual dictionary available.
World Literature in Spanish: An Encyclopedia contains roughly 850 entries on both major and minor authors, themes, genres, and topics of Spanish literature from the Middle Ages to the present day, affording an amazingly comprehensive reference collection in a single work.
Includes nearly 500 essay entries on noted people, festivities, items, terms, movements, sports, food, events, places, visual and performing arts, film, institutions, fashion, literature, organizations, the media, and much more.
This concise yet thorough study, covering the last 100 years of Mexican history, is the only one volume, A-Z reference work available to students, scholars, and readers curious about one of the world's most diverse and dynamic societies.
This volume advances the ecocritical conversation among Latin Americanists, furthering insight into the relationship between humans and their environments, transcending national boundaries by addressing diverse regions.
This book, first published in 2003, provides a comprehensive and structured vocabulary for all levels of undergraduate Spanish courses. It offers a broad coverage of the concrete and abstract vocabulary relating to the physical, cultural, social, commercial and political environment, as well as exposure to commonly encountered technical vocabulary.