"History is the analysis and interpretation of the human past that enables us to study continuity and change over time.. It is an act of both investigation and imagination that seeks to explain how people have changed over time. Historians use all forms of evidence to examine, interpret, revisit, and reinterpret the past. These include not just written documents, but also oral communication and objects such as buildings, artifacts, photographs, and paintings. Historians are trained in the methods of discovering and evaluating these sources, and the challenging task of making historical sense out of them. Nevertheless, historians do not always agree on interpretations of the past. The debated differences help expand and enhance our understanding of human development."
The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Currently, Project MUSE offers quality journal titles from scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries provides access to more than 1,000 primary source documents (diaries, letters, and memoirs) which contain thousands of views on almost every aspect of the civil war, including the Northern, Southern, and foreign perspectives.
Hundreds of thematically organized, annotated primary documents, and over 100 images introduce aspects of daily life throughout the world, including domestic life, economics, intellectual life, material life, politics, religion, and recreation, from antiquity to the present.
A History of the Ancient World by Chester G. Starr
Call Number: 930 S796h 1991
Publication Date: 1991
Reflecting five decades of teaching and research, and drawing on the most recent scholarship, the fourth edition of this widely-read history provides the same broad coverage, chronological framework, and absorbing literary style that distinguished previous editions.
Classical World by Robin Lane Fox; Basic Books Staff
Call Number: 938 L265c 2006
Publication Date: 2006
From the Peloponnesian War through the creation of Athenian democracy, from the turbulent empire of Alexander the Great to the creation of the Roman Empire and the emergence of Christianity, Fox serves as our witty and trenchant guide.
After introducing 18th- and 19th-century efforts to regulate American election campaigns, this book examines the 20th-century evolution and refinement of election campaign laws in era-by-era chapters and concludes with a chapter on 21st-century developments.
This volume is one of 17 in the series, each of which presents essays on Everyday America, The World of Youth, Advertising, Architecture, Fashion, Food, Leisure Activities, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Travel, and Visual Arts.
From the landmark Brown v. Board of Education case to protests against the Vietnam War to the fight for black power, Civil Rights Movement: People and Perspectives looks at events that set the stage for guaranteeing America's promise to all Americans.
Situated at the intersection of political history, intellectual history, and the history of U.S. foreign policy, this book offers an in-depth examination of the development of neoconservative foreign policy from the end of the Cold War to the election of George W. Bush in 2000.
A History of the European Economy, 1000-2000 goes beyond addressing the historical ramifications of trade in the European economy to encompass problems such as the diffusion of technology, the migration of capital and labor, diasporas and minorities, and national diversity.
Handbook of European History, 1400-1600 by James D. Tracy; Heiko A. Oberman; James A. Brady
Call Number: 940.2 H2362 1995
Publication Date: 1995
This is a two-volume set which brings together leading scholars to present current knowledge and thinking about European history between 1400 and 1600: in the late Middle Ages, Renaissance and Reformation.
Early Modern Europe by Euan Cameron
Call Number: 940.2 E122 1999
Publication Date: 1999
This book shows how the religious and intellectual unity of western culture fragmented and dissolved under the impact of new ideas.; it also examines politics to consider the emergence of modern attitudes and techniques in governing.
Now that 'Europe' is an even more contested idea than ever, this volume informs the current discourse on European identity by analysing Europe's reaction to the tragedy, heroism and disgrace of the Second World War.
An A-Z of Modern Europe 1789-1999 is a comprehensive dictionary which defines modern Europe through its important events and people.
Books on Tennessee and Appalachian History
Appalachian Odyssey by Phillip J. Obermiller; Thomas E. Wagner; Edward Bruce Tucker
Call Number: 975 A6466 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Scholars from a variety of social science disciplines bring their perspectives to this volume in an examination of the historical, political, social, economic, and cultural impact of a talented group often derided as hillbillies.
Appalachian Aspirations by John E. Benhart
Call Number: 338.9768 B466a 2007
Publication Date: 2007
In Appalachian Aspirations, John Benhart presents the story of the evolution of capitalism and regional development in the Upper Tennessee River Valley in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
The Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture by Carroll Van West; Tennessee Historical Society Staff
Call Number: 976.8003 T29798 1998
Publication Date: 1998
With thirty-two essays on topics from agriculture to World War II, this major reference work includes maps, photos, extensive cross-referencing, bibliographical information, and a detailed index.
Two major themes emerge from Tennessee Frontiers: first, that of opportunity the belief held by frontier people that North America offered unique opportunities for advancement; and second, that of tension between local autonomy and central authority, which was marked by the resistance of frontier people to outside controls, and between and among groups of whites and Indians.
This reference guide to African history provides substantive entries on 36 watershed events that shaped the history of the continent from the prehistoric past to the dawn of the 21st century.
Africans by John Iliffe et al.
Call Number: 960 I28a 1995
Publication Date: 1995
African Anthropologies by Mwenda Ntarangwi; David Mills; Mustafa H. M. Babiker
Call Number: 301.07267 A2586 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This overview of the history, application and teaching of anthropology in post-colonial Africa shows how the continent's anthropologists are redefining the historical legacy of European and American disciplinary hegemony, and developing distinctively African contributions to anthropological theory and practice.
History of African Cities South of the Sahara by Catherine Coquery-Vidrovitch; Mary Baker
Call Number: 307.760967 C786h 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Architecture and built environments are considered, as are the impacts on African urbanism of trans-Atlantic and Indian Ocean slavery, Islam and trans-Saharan trade, European capitalism, and the rise of cultural synthesis.
Books on Latin American History
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner; Erick Detlef Langer
Call Number: 980.003 E5635 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The set emphasizes political, economic, and social history, yet does not overlook those elements of material and popular culture that have affected the history of Latin America.
Now in its seventh edition, this definitive text has been updated throughout and features contributions from experts in the field, including three entirely new chapters on Bolivia, Ecuador, and Mexico.