Skip to Main Content

The Lamar Memorial Library is open to Maryville College students, faculty, and staff only. Access to collections / research assistance is available by appointment to non-MC users.
NO FOOD ALLOWED - Drinks in covered containers are permitted.

Click Here for Information About Online Library Services and Resources, including Live Chat with a Librarian.

library homepage
Today's Hours:  

Lamar Memorial Library - New Resources

Lamar Memorial Library - New Resources
Also, these databases can be found on the library's Research Databases page for each title (under G for Gale).

Gale Primary Sources - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Gale Primary Sources - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. With 1.8 million pages available, the collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end.

Gale Primary Sources - Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Gale Primary Sources - Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, and Oxford University. The database has 4 parts:

1. Debates over Slavery and Abolition
2. Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
3. The Institution of Slavery
4. The Age of Emacipation

Gale Primary Sources - Women's Studies Archive

Gale Primary Sources - Women's Studies Archive: Issues and Identities

Women's Studies Archives provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. Offering coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, Women's Issues and Identities allows for the serendipitous discovery of commonalities among a variety of archival collections.