Education and Teacher Licensure Resources

The NEA provides links to partner sites (ArtsEdge and The Arts Education Partnership) that contains materials for K-12 arts education.

Created by Valerie Ubbes, Phd at Miami University, Oxford, Ohio, this academic website gives teachers, librarians, parents, and students a place for designing literature-based thematic units for all subjects

From the University of Arizona's College of Education, World of Words resources include strategies for locating and evaluating culturally authentic international children’s and adolescent literature as well as ways of engaging students with these books in classrooms and libraries.

The "Top 25" Websites foster the qualities of innovation, creativity, active participation, and collaboration. They are free, Web-based sites that are user friendly and encourage a community of learners to explore and discover.

The Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) is a professional association of thousands of educators and others whose activities are directed toward improving instruction through technology.

Common Sense Media is dedicated to improving the lives of kids and families by providing the trustworthy information, education, and independent voice they need to thrive in a world of media and technology.

The George Lucas Educational Foundation is dedicated to improving the K-12 learning process by documenting, disseminating, and advocating for innovative, replicable, and evidence-based strategies that prepare students to thrive in their future education, careers, and adult lives.

Internet 4 Classrooms ("i4c") is a free web portal designed to assist anyone who wants to find high-quality, free Internet resources to use in classroom instruction, developing project ideas, reinforcing specific subject matter areas both in the class and at home and even for online technology tutorials. The portal is used by teachers, parents and students of all ages.

The Journal of Technology Education provides a forum for scholarly discussion on topics relating to technology education.

Educator David Warlick dedicates this web site to the idea that the very nature of information is changing, practically before our eyes. It is changing in what it looks like, where we find it, what we look at to view it, what we can do with it, and how we communicate it. Here you will find information and tools designed to help us redefine literacy for the 21st Century.

Free resource for managing, organizing, and presenting information on the web.

Putting Educational Innovations Into Practice - Find peer reviewed online teaching and learning materials. Share advice and expertise about education with expert colleagues. Be recognized for your contributions to quality education.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. Check out the link for Highlights for High School which features MIT OpenCourseWare materials that are most useful for high school students and teachers.

My eCoach is both a customized service and an online community that can make you better at whatever you do. We carefully guide individuals and organizations towards realizing specific goals and shared visions. Coaching, publishing tools and free resources are all in one place. My eCoach works for everyone: individuals, businesses, organizations, schools, districts, classrooms, clubs, etc.

Project Tomorrow is a national education nonprofit group based in Irvine, California. The vision of Project Tomorrow is ensure that today’s students are well prepared to be tomorrow’s innovators, leaders and engaged citizens of the world. We believe that by supporting the innovative uses of science, math and technology resources in our K-12 schools and communities, students will develop the critical thinking, problem solving and creativity skills needed to compete and thrive.

Tom March has been "working the Web" and contributing "Bright Ideas for education" since 1994. It all started with WebQuests and continued from there to include a range of other Web-based teaching formats, tools like Filamentality and Web-and-Flow and an emphasis on quality as seen in BestWebQuests.

Developed by Bernie Dodge, PhD, Department of Educational Technology, San Diego State University, this site provides the most complete and current source of information about the WebQuest Model. Whether you're an education student new to the topic or an experienced teacher educator looking for materials, you'll find something here to meet your needs.

Created by Dr. R. Jerry Adams and maintained by the Evaluation and Development Institute, The Awesome Library provides only resources that have been reviewed and found to be of high quality for our users.

Discovery Education offers a breadth and depth of digital media content that is immersive, engaging and brings the world into the classroom to give every student a chance to experience fascinating people, places, and events. All content is aligned to state standards, can be aligned to custom curriculum, and supports classroom instruction regardless of the technology platform.

A subscription service created by teachers, EdHelper provides curriculum guides and lesson plans.

EducationWorld.com provides original content, including lesson plans, practical information for educators, information on how to integrate technology in the classroom, and articles written by education experts; Web site reviews; special features and columns; and employment listings. The EducationWorld team works hard to produce this FREE resource for educators. In order to keep the site free for all visitors, EducationWorld is funded by corporate sponsors and a

Richard Culatta is a leader in the field of educational innovation. He has worked in K-12, higher education, corporate, and government training environments. His current focus as Deputy Director of the Office of Educational Technology for the US Department of Education is on using data and learning analytics to create customized learning experiences for all students. This site is designed to provide information about instructional design principles and how they relate to teaching and learning.

NCEDL is a national early childhood research project supported by the US Department of Education's Institute for Educational Sciences (IES), formerly the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI). Administratively based at the FPG Child Development Institute, NCEDL is a collaboration with the University of Virginia & UCLA.

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse, without charge. Open Educational Resources are different from other resources a teacher may use in that OER have been given limited or unrestricted licensing rights. OER Commons forges alliances between trusted content providers and creative users and re-users of Open Educational Resources (OER).

PBS LearningMedia™ is your destination for easy, instant access to thousands of classroom-ready, digital resources including videos and interactives perfect for the Interactive Whiteboard, plus audio and photos, and even in-depth lesson plans. You can search, save, and share with ease. Best of all, PBS LearningMedia™ is free for educators.

Smithsonian Education is the central education website of the Smithsonian Institution. This site provides access to inforamtion and resources for educators, families and students.

TeAchnology provides free and easy to use resources for teachers dedicated to improving the education of today's generation of students. We feature 46,000+ lesson plans, 9,600 free printable worksheets, rubrics, teaching tips, worksheet makers, web quests, math worksheets, and thousands of other great teacher resources. We are the online teacher resource that is designed to help busy Kindergarten through High School teachers.

The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.

A universe of free resources for grades K-5 provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library. Links include homework help, games and activities, state history, and ebooks.

The Gateway has been made possible through the generous support from the National Education Association. The Gateway expands educators' capability to access Internet-based lesson plans, instructional units and other educational materials in all forms and formats. The Gateway's goal is to improve the organization and accessibility of the substantial collections of materials that are already available on various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet sites.

Thirteen Ed Online is public television's award-winning Web service for teachers!

Created and maintained by the U.S. Department of Education, this directory is intended to help you identify and contact organizations that provide information and assistance on a broad range of education-related topics.

As an initiative of the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences (IES), the What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) was created in 2002 to be a central and trusted source of scientific evidence for what works in education.

The field of special and gifted education is always evolving. As your professional association, we want to make sure you have access to the tools, research, and learning you need to make your students successful.

Educators can delve into the wealth of research-based and practical resources designed to help meet the needs of gifted and talented students in school settings.

The National Research Center on Gifted and Talented (NRC/GT) current 5-year research plan will lead to empirical and descriptive understandings of "what works in gifted education."

Links to web resources and other materials compiled by Meredith G. Warshaw, M.S.S., M.A. Special Needs Educational Advisor and Contributing Editor, 2e: Twice-Exceptional Newsletter

EdTechTeacher presents The Center for Teaching History with Technology, a resource created to help K-12 history and social studies teachers incorporate technology effectively into their courses. Find resources for history and social studies lesson plans, activities, projects, games, and quizzes that use technology. Explore inquiry-based lessons, activities, and projects. Learn about web technologies such as blogs, podcasts, wikis, social networks, Google Docs, ebooks, online maps, virtual field trips, screencasts, online posters, and more.

Big6 is a six-stage model to help anyone solve problems or make decisions by using information. Some call it information literacy, information communication, or ICT skills, or a process,

Showcasing young writers since 2005! This site lets students with the help of teachers and parents to create their own stories using Story Starters.

In 1996, the founders of EducationWorld recognized the need to create a home for educators on the Internet, a place where teachers could gather and share ideas. They wanted to create a complete online resource that educators could visit each day to find high-quality lesson plans and research materials.

The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.

The web home of the Modern Language Association.

The National Writing Project focuses the knowledge, expertise, and leadership of our nation's educators on sustained efforts to improve writing and learning for all learners.

The International Reading Association provides a wealth of resources for the classroom. Under the tab for Classroom Resources, educators and parents will find lesson plans, student interactives, calendar activies, and printouts.

Reading Rockets is a national multimedia literacy initiative offering information and resources on how young kids learn to read, why so many struggle, and how caring adults can help. Resources on this site offer the best research-based strategies to teachers, parents, administrators, librarians, childcare providers, and anyone else involved in helping a young child become a strong, confident reader.

Created by educator Carla Beard, Web English Teacher educators can take advantage of online technology to share ideas and to benefit from the work of others. Beginning teachers can find guidance; experienced teachers can find inspiration. Think of it as the faculty library and faculty workroom on a global scale.

Use our resources to help your schools, communities and society be more respectful, inclusive and equitable.

GLSEN, the Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network, is the leading national education organization focused on ensuring safe schools for all students. Established in 1990, GLSEN envisions a world in which every child learns to respect and accept all people, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression. GLSEN seeks to develop school climates where difference is valued for the positive contribution it makes to creating a more vibrant and diverse community.

Funbrain provides free educational games, online books, and comics. Funbrain, created for kids ages preschool through grade 8, offers more than 100 fun, interactive games that develop skills in math, reading, and literacy. Plus, kids can read a variety of popular books and comics on the site, including Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Amelia Writes Again, and Brewster Rocket.

Subscription based service offering the largest, most comprehensive resource for K-12 math and science educators.

Mathwire.com is designed to provide activities and appropriate worksheets for teachers to use in their classrooms. All activities and worksheets support the constructivist approach to learning mathematics and the NCTM Standards.

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is a public voice of mathematics education supporting teachers to ensure equitable mathematics learning of the highest quality for all students through vision, leadership, professional development and research.

Curricular guidelines and standards for K-12 mathematics education in the state of Tennessee.

The Math Projects Journal is an international publication offering innovative math lessons, discussions of relevant topics, and contributions from teachers from around the world.

Tools for Understanding was funded through a federal grant from the US Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs. Resources provide math concepts, integrated lessons, journaling, and research.

The American Folklore Society is an association of people who study and communicate knowledge about folklore throughout the world.

Use our resources to help your schools, communities and society be more respectful, inclusive and equitable.

The Institute for Urban and Minority Education (IUME) was created in 1973 to serve the interests of those who are often hidden, disregarded, or underestimated. Our mission is to use research and demonstration to show the most promising practices in schools and out-of-school settings where youth are learning powerfully and feeling good about themselves while doing so.

Local Learning began as the National Task Force for Folk Arts in Education during a 1993 national roundtable at the National Endowment for the Arts. Today, we are a loose network of hundreds of people interested in engaging young people with their own traditional culture and with the local culture and folklore of their families, regions, and the larger world. We are folklorists, folk artists, and educators of many stripes.

Founded in 1991 by the Southern Poverty Law Center, Teaching Tolerance is dedicated to reducing prejudice, improving intergroup relations and supporting equitable school experiences for our nation's children. We provide free educational materials to teachers and other school practitioners in the U.S. and abroad.

TeachableMoment.Org provides educators with timely teaching ideas to encourage critical thinking on issues of the day and foster a positive classroom environment. It is a project of Morningside Center for Teaching Social Responsibility (formerly Educators for Social Responsibility Metropolitan Area). Topical activities are available for elementary school, middle school, and high school levels.

Music Education Online provides a wealth of online information - including links to hundreds of sheet music titles and music education resources.

Since 1907, NAfME has worked to ensure that every student has access to a well-balanced, comprehensive, and high-quality program of music instruction taught by qualified teachers. NAfME's activities and resources have been largely responsible for the establishment of music education as a profession, for the promotion and guidance of music study as an integral part of the school curriculum, and for the development of the National Standards for Arts Education.

Science NetLinks is a premier K-12 science education resource produced by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. At Science NetLinks, you'll find teaching tools, interactives, podcasts, and hands-on activities, and all of it is free!

Bill Nye is a graduate of Cornell with a Bachelors of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering. He holds three Honorary Doctorate degrees from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Goucher College, and Johns Hopkins. He has delivered commencement addresses at the University of California Santa Barbara, RPI, Goucher, Hopkins, Harvey Mudd College, and Caltech.

To catalyze and support excellence in teaching and learning of science, technology, engineering, mathematics (STEM) and other core subjects through innovative, research-based instructional strategies and use of novel technologies. CIESE collaborates with K-12 and university educators, researchers, policymakers and educational organizations to develop curriculum materials, conduct professional development programs, and research new methodologies to strengthen STEM education.

The mission of EOL is to to increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource. EOL is supported by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and the following institutions:

The Exploratorium is a museum of science, art, and human perception located in San Francisco, California. We create tools and experiences that help you to become an active explorer: hundreds of explore-for-yourself exhibits; a Web site with over 25,000 pages of content; film screenings; workshops for lifelong learners including day camps for kids and family investigations; evening art and science events for adults—plus much more.

For students, parents, teachers, scientists, engineers and mathematicians. More than 14,000 Science Resources sorted by Category, Subcategory, and Grade Level.

Subscription based service offering the largest, most comprehensive resource for K-12 math and science educators.

learningscience.org is an organization dedicated to sharing the newer and emerging "learning tools" of science education. Tools such as real-time data collection, simulations, inquiry based lessons, interactive web lessons, remote instrumentation, micro-worlds, and imaging, among others, can help make teaching science an exciting and engaging endeavor. These tools can help connect students with science, in ways that were impossible just a few years ago.

The mission of the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science at the University at Buffalo is to promote the development and dissemination of materials and practices for case teaching in the sciences. Our website provides access to an award-winning collection of peer-reviewed case studies. In addition, we are actively engaged in educational research to assess the ihe impact of the case method on student learning.

This portal is designed to assist educators in accessing these materials from one centralized interface. The content here is a sampling of NOAA's education resources and more can be found at each linked location. Materials selected for this site are organized by Themes, topical Collections, and content type that are aligned with common teaching topics and expressed needs of educators.

NSDL's mission is to provide quality digital resources to the science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education community, both formal and informal, institutional and individual. NSDL's collections are continuously refined by an extensive network of STEM educational and disciplinary professionals. Their work is based on user data, disciplinary knowledge and participation in the rapid evolution of digital resources as major elements of effective STEM learning.

The National Science Teachers Association is a member-driven organization, 60,000-strong. We publish books and journals for science teachers from kindergarten through college. Each year we hold four conferences on science education: three regional events in the fall and a national gathering in the spring. We provide ways for science teachers to connect with one another. We inform Congress and the public on vital questions affecting science literacy and a well-educated workforce.

The Physics Classroom Tutorial is an online physics tutorial written for high school physics students. The tutorial was originally developed for physics students at Glenbrook South High School in Glenview, Illinois. The Tutorial covers basic physics topics using informative graphics and an easy-to-understand language. Each unit is broken up into lessons and sub-lessons. A lesson resembles the type and extent of coverage given to that physics topic in class.

The Understanding Science site was produced by the UC Museum of Paleontology of the University of California at Berkeley, in collaboration with a diverse group of scientists and teachers, and was funded by the National Science Foundation. Understanding Science gives users an inside look at the general principles, methods, and motivations that underlie all of science.

C-SPAN Classroom is a free membership service for social studies teachers. Our mission is to enhance the teaching of social studies through C-SPAN’s primary source programming and websites.

Part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Project, the Library launched a five-year effort to add rare and unique items from the Library's vast African-American collections to the National Digital Library. This site is the result of the project.

The National Civil Rights Museum, located at the Lorraine Motel, the assassination site of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., chronicles key episodes of the American civil rights movement and the legacy of this movement to inspire participation in civil and human rights efforts globally, through our collections, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Founded in 1921, National Council for the Social Studies has grown to be the largest association in the country devoted solely to social studies education. NCSS engages and supports educators in strengthening and advocating social studies. With members in all the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 69 foreign countries, NCSS serves as an umbrella organization for elementary, secondary, and college teachers of history, civics, geography, economics, political science, and related disciplines.

EconEdLink provides a premier source of classroom-tested, Internet-based economic and personal finance lesson materials for K-12 teachers and their students. The Internet-based lessons are targeted for K-12 teachers and their students. Each of the lessons includes a teacher's version as well as a student's version. Each of the lessons are designed to be delivered in a variety of formats and classroom settings.

The HistoryMakers is a national, 501(c)(3) non-profit educational institution committed to preserving, developing and providing easy access to an internationally recognized archival collection of thousands of African American video oral histories.

LD OnLine.org is the world's leading website on learning disabilities and ADHD, serving more than 200,000 parents, teachers, and other professionals each month. The site features hundreds of helpful articles, multimedia, monthly columns by noted experts, first person essays, children’s writing and artwork, a comprehensive resource guide, very active forums, and a Yellow Pages referral directory of professionals, schools, and products.

The Tennessee Department of Education, Division of Special Education's purpose is to "promote educational services and programs for all Tennessee's children with special education needs that will enable them to lead productive and independent lives." The Division is committed to systematic planning along with plan implementation, tracking and accountability as a vehicle for providing the leadership necessary for fulfilling this purpose.

The Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) is dedicated to improving results for infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities ages birth through 21 by providing leadership and financial support to assist states and local districts.

The "Top 25" Websites foster the qualities of innovation, creativity, active participation, and collaboration. They are free, Web-based sites that are user friendly and encourage a community of learners to explore and discover.

Web 2.0 Tools Presentation to Promote a Personalized Learning Experience in the Online Classroom from Grand Canyon University.

Free resource for managing, organizing, and presenting information on the web.

EdTechTeacher presents The Center for Teaching History with Technology, a resource created to help K-12 history and social studies teachers incorporate technology effectively into their courses. Find resources for history and social studies lesson plans, activities, projects, games, and quizzes that use technology. Explore inquiry-based lessons, activities, and projects. Learn about web technologies such as blogs, podcasts, wikis, social networks, Google Docs, ebooks, online maps, virtual field trips, screencasts, online posters, and more.

Article published by Kentucky Journal of Excellence in College Teaching and Learning

Categorized lists of Web 2.0 tools for education with descriptions.

This is a guide to many of the Web 2.0 tools that can be used in a classroom. Each is defined, explained and uses noted. (Open source textbook)