Skip to main content

Lamar Memorial Library's physical spaces are closed.

Click Here for Information About Online Library Services and Resources, including Live Chat with a Librarian.

library homepage

Ebook Guide: Ebsco Ebook Reader

This guide covers how to find ebooks in McQuest, how to use the different readers, and what tools are available to users.

Ebsco Ebook Reader

This guide showcases the Ebsco Ebook Reader, using snippets of screenshots. It will cover how to open and view ebooks in this reader, as well as what tools for navigation and management are available. Use the links on the left to jump to particular sections. 

Need help?

Using the Ebsco Reader

McQuest is an EbscoHost product, which means that Ebsco will be the default reader for the majority of ebooks found in McQuest. Items that offer a direct “PDF Full Text” option will be opened in the Ebsco reader. Below is an example:

 

 

 

You may notice there is a “Download (Offline)” option as well as the “PDF Full Text” option. It is generally recommended that students do not use this option. It requires users to create an EbscoHost account. If you would like to create the optional EbscoHost account, see the next page in this guide.

 

To open your ebook, click on the “PDF Full Text” link. It will take you directly into the e-reader. It should resemble this:

 

 

 


 

Navigation:

 

Page by Page: You can scroll with your mouse through the pages in this reader. There are also navigation arrows at the bottom of the page that allow you to turn the pages. The other tools at the bottom will adjust your view of the book (zoom, fit to page, etc.)

 

 

 

Through Sections: In most cases, there will be a table of contents menu on the left of the screen. Each chapter and/or section will be a link that will take you directly to the first page of that chapter/section.

 

Searching: You can also search within the book using the tool in the top, left corner. Clicking on each Keyword Match will take you directly to that section of the text.

 

 

 

 


 

 

Management Tools:

 

At the top of the page, you will find a number of useful tools. These are the same tools that are offered when viewing an item record in McQuest.

 

Add to Folder:

Add to Folder is another option that requires an EbscoHost Account. See the next page in this guide for more information.

 

Save Pages:

Save Pages will allow you to create and save a PDF of select pages to your device. There may be page limits on how much is allowed to be downloaded. If there are such restrictions, it will notify you in a yellow warning page.

 

E-mail Pages:

Email Pages will allow you to email a PDF of pages to yourself or another personal affiliated with your school. You can select what information is sent with the PDF (such as citation, description, etc.). The email will always include the basic information about the ebook (title, author, etc.) as well as the permalink to the full text.

 


 

Cite:

The Citation tool will generate a list of suggested citations in various styles, including MLA, APA and Chicago. It is important to note that these are automatically generated and are not checked for accuracy. Be sure to double check them before using them in an assignment. They are just a good starting point, for the most part.

 

 

Dictionary:

The Dictionary tool is a built in dictionary which allows you to look up words without having to leave the e-reader. It provides pronunciation, definition and other information provided by Oxford University Press.

 


 

Export:

The Export Tool will allow you to send information and data about your book to other programs. This is mainly used with a citation management software such as Endnote or Zotero.

 

 

Permalink:

The Permalink tool generates a stable URL that will bring users back to this item. It is a useful tool when you are looking at many different resources and need to save a list of them.

 

 

Share:

Just like the Share tool in other popular sites, this tool allows you to share this book through different social media websites.